I admit it, I’m old school.  I still like the feel of the newspaper and seeing newsprint on my fingertips.  I still think of books as precious collectibles.

My wife and I agreed to cancel our home subscription to our local paper (Cincinnati Enquirer) several months ago to The Kindle by Amazon.comread it online.  It was a bad experience (primarily due to the design and function (or lack thereof) of their online edition).  We’ve just resubscribed.

This morning the Wall Street Journal’s Technology section lead with a story about the e-book (see the Kindle above).  My wife is a Kindle owner and swears by it.  I still have a stack of books to read sitting by my side of the bed.

At lunch today I read PRWeek (4.13.09) and the story about Plastic Logic Readers (see below) and the initiatve of several newspapers to convert to this larger, more newspaper-like and user-friendly e-news format (sorry, no link available plastic-logic-reader1except by subscription).

Clearly, these two market segments (print news and books) are evolving due to new technologies.  But, where is this headed?

Will I ever consume all my news from my “phone?”  I can’t imagine that.  But, people probably once said they’d never consumer all their news from a black-and-white TV screen in their living room.

Will I ever read books on an e-reader?  I hope not.  But, Johannes Gutenberg opened up an entire world to people that had been reserved only for the most wealthy and upper class. He changed the world.

Will I ever carry my “phone,” a Kindle and a Plastic Logic Reader.  I doubt it; too much stuff to move around with.

Will something else replace them all?  Maybe.  Or, will I continue to value the feel of newsprint and the smell of books while consuming news online from my “phone.”

These are fascinating times and a great time to be a professional communicator

Whatever happens with me (and many millions more just like me) will influence precisely how we advise clients to communicate strategically to achieve their most important business objectives.

Post by Nick Vehr – 4.20.09

