I am always amazed when words written centuries ago seem so applicable today.

Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (1749-1932)

Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (1749-1932)

These are challenging, even scary, times; an economic crisis, extremism, terrorism … all kinds of scary isms!

From another perspective, these are also exciting times; out of today’s economic “destructive energy” will come opportunity, out of fear and division many may find similarities and hope.

Books are great gifts.  I like to give them and receive them.  This holiday, my daughter gave me A Lion Among Men, written by Gregory Maguire, author of  Wicked.  Like Wicked, Lion tells the tale of Oz from another character’s perspective – you guessed it, the Cowardly Lion.  I’ve just started it – feels like a great read.

"A Lion Among Men" by Gregory Maguire

"A Lion Among Men" by Gregory Maguire

OK – here’s the connection. Maguire starts the book with a quote from Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, a German novelist, poet, scientist (a major league deep thinker) who lived from 1749-1932. 

About 100 years or so ago, Goethe wrote these words that struck me as applicable today … at least for me as the owner of a new business.  I feel as if I have risked much to pursue a dream of building something of value.  I also feel immensely fortunate to have done so.

“The moment one definitely commits oneself, then Providence moves as well.  All sorts of things occur to help one that would never otherwise have occurred.  A stream of events issues from the decision, raising in one’s favor all manner of unforeseen accidents, meetings and materials assistance that no one could have dreamed would come their way.  Whatever you can do or dream you can do, begin it.  Boldness has genius, power and magic in it.  Begin it now.”

Happy New Year!

Post by Nick Vehr – 12.27.08